A Reading And Some Reading

I have two big pieces of news to deliver, and not a whole lot of bandwidth on which to deliver them, having just relocated to a new apartment that is identical to my old apartment from a cleaner, more modern mirror-universe. Therefore, in an effort to respect your time and my own, I will attempt to rein in my usual charms and be succinct, concise, to the point, and avoid redundancy.

~~~

Point the First: Seven Archons Press has just released a new anthology, Writings on the Wall, edited by D.G. Sutter and Anthony Laguerre. Writings on the Wall “features twenty gruesome, transgressive tales of loneliness, heartbreak, and self-destruction,” one of which is my gruesome, transgressive short story, “Your Leg Tastes Better.” Better than what? You’ll have to purchase and read the anthology to find out. I’ll give you a hint: it’s definitely not Hot Pockets.

The book is available on Amazon, via this link, and on the Createspace store. There are also a few ways to score a copy on the cheap. One is by nudging me–I might be able to pick one up for you at slightly below the sticker price. Of course, you’ll need to convince me that it’s worth my while. I am, after all, officially “edgy” now. In addition, the book’s editors have mentioned that they might be willing to send out free e-book copies to anybody who writes it up on a personal blog and drop an Amazon review. If you like writing about Hot Pockets and paraphilia, it should be a piece of cake for you.

Did I just say Hot Pockets? Of course I didn’t. Neither did I mention cake. Look, I’m not going to tell you what the leg tastes better than, so just read the damn story. Unless you’re chicken.

No, “chicken” is not the answer.

!!!

Point the Second: This date has snuck up on me, but I’ll be doing a reading for Insert Blanc Press, the LA-based small press for which I am interning, TONIGHT. That’s 09/27/2012, folks. Put it on your calendars, then grab your car keys and get out the door, because this reading is going to be a real barn-stormer. Featuring Vanessa Place, Teresa Carmody, Kate Durbin, Harold Abramowitz, Janice Lee, and many more, including my beautiful self, I can confidently assure you that it is going to RAWK. The location is The Last Bookstore in Downtown LA, and the time is 8pm sharpish. If you want the full deets on the reading, such as address and such, you can find it at the press’s website.

Oh, and ‘cuz I’m such a groovy guy, I’ll copypasta that shiz for you right here and now. No clicking required!

%%%

Insert Blanc Press at The Last Bookstore
Thursday, September 27 from 8 – 10 p.m.
453 S. Spring St., Downtown Los Angeles

Please join Insert Blanc Press at the Last Bookstore in downtown LA for a September celebration of all things new and forthcoming on the press. The night will include readings and performances from the wide and vibrant variety of Authors, Artists, Printers, Designers, Editors, Interns and Friends of Insert Blanc Press including: Harold Abramowitz, Byron Alexander Campbell, Teresa Carmody, Kate Durbin, Janice Lee, Joseph Mosconi, Vanessa Place, Christopher Russell, & Ben White. The evening will also possibly include the performance of an auction that will actually really be a real auction! This event is free and open to the public, yet a $10 donation to the press for such an evening of wild wonder and beyonsense is much appreciated. Insert Blanc Press will happily introduce the Rabble series and the new Knock-Out Editions with titles such as Stingray Clapping by Andrew Choate as well as new issues of PARROT and and number of titles forthcoming on the press and just generally celebrating all the Authors, Artists, Printers, Designers, Editors, Interns and Friends of Insert Blanc Press. And Yes, that means you too! Have a glass of champagne with us because we will be celebrating all of us together and you. Yes, you!

+-+

I will see you there. Yes, you!

Leave a Reply

